Skip to content

Tip 6.6: You can save your current settings prior to doing an Import or Reset

October 1, 2013

“Visual Studio Tips, 251 ways to improve your Productivity in Visual Studio“, courtesy of ‘Sara Ford’

Sara Ford’s Blog

Sara Aside

Sometimes “Tip of the Day” isn’t about stating the obvious; it’s about stating the nonobvious. A lot of times, there’s functionality that seems trivial on the surface, but one-off things occur at a deeper level, as seen in Tip 6.5. Fortunately, this tip is trivial. No hidden operations going on under the UI that she has to explain.

Whenever you do a destructive operation via Tools–Import And Export Settings, such as importing or resetting your settings, Visual Studio prompts you to save your current settings prior to continuing. This operation is the same as doing a full export (that is, going to the Export page and checking everything to export to a file).

VSTip6600

The one thing she’ll call out is that the Store My Settings File In This Directory combo box will remember any location where you’ve exported a file to, because you may wish to save your current settings there again in the future.

Happy Programming! =)

Advertisements
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: